Thursday, September 17, 2009

September 17: Constitution Day

On this day in 1787, the delegates to the Constitutional Convention met in Philadelphia for the last time to sign a document - known as the Constitution - they had created earlier.
The first constitution of the 13 United States was called the Articles of Confederation, which was ratified in 1781. In September 1786, representatives from five states met to discuss adjustments to the Articles of Confederation. It was later realized that rather than amend the existing articles, a new document called the Constitution should be written.
The Constitution of the United States of America is the supreme law of the United States. It provides the framework for the organization of the U.S. Government and for the relationship of the Federal government to the States, to citizens, and to all people within the USA.
On September 17, 1787 the Constitution was completed. Among the 39 delegates who signed the document ... George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, James Madison, and Alexander Hamilton.
The next time you find yourself in Walt Disney World's Liberty Square looking at The Hall of Presidents building ... you'll know why the number 1787 appears over the entrance.

Click HERE for more September 17 Disney history.

No comments: