Friday, March 7, 2008

Mar 07: TV's Best

On this day in 1955, the Emmy Awards for television excellence in 1954 were handed out at the Moulin Rouge Nightclub in Hollywood (hosted by Steve Allen) and Nino's LaRue Restaurant in New York City (hosted by Dave Garroway).
Best Variety Series went to ABC-TV's Disneyland - beating out The George Gobel Show, The Jack Benny Program, The Jackie Gleason Show, Toast of the Town, and Your Hit Parade.
The Disneyland episode "Operation Undersea" was awarded Best Individual Program of the Year - edging out episodes of Medic, Shower of Stars, Studio One, and Light's Diamond Jubilee.
Although Walt Disney himself was nominated for Most Outstanding Personality, that Emmy went to George Gobel.
Best Television Film Editing was awarded to Lynn Harrison and Grant K. Smith for their work on the Disneyland episode "Operation Undersea," - ironically beating out Chester W. Schaeffer for his contribution to the Disneyland episode "Davy Crockett - Indian Fighter."

Click HERE for more March 07 Disney history.

No comments: